Adjusting

Ghana. I have only been here for three full days, and already this country has blown my expectations away, in some positive ways, and in some ways I’ll just have to adjust to.

Here are some highlights:

I got my luggage this morning, after a heated argument between the baggage claim people, the airport security, and a group of people (myself included) whose bags have been lost. The bags arrived at the airport last night, but were not being released to us, so eventually people just bullied their way past (verbally and physically) and I snuck in with them to claim my stuff. All is now well!

I live with an elderly, retired couple in their early 70s, and I call them Grandma and Grandpa. I have a room to myself in their house, and I help wash dishes in a bucket after meals. They don’t do much besides lay around and watch soccer, as the African Nation’s Cup is coming up this month. Go Black Stars! (Ghana’s national team)

My bathroom consists of a toilet that only flushes sometimes (and no toilet seat; I almost fall in a lot), and a small space in front of the toilet with a spigot and a bucket to pour water over my head to shower. There is no light, but I do have a window so I can see what I’m doing in the daytime.

My house is a 15 minute walk from the nearest taxi stop, on a red dirt road littered with shacks, gated houses, trash, dogs, chickens goats, children shouting “Obruni, obruni! Hi, obruni!” (meaning “white person”), and today, even a heard of bare-boned cattle. School is a 10-15 minute taxi ride away for 35 peshwas (less than 35 cents) each way. The driving is frightening at best; people drive insanely fast and erratically.

Somewhere not too far away (I still need to figure out how to get there) is Jerry’s Place, a roadside bar that my grandpa introduced me to that seems to be the local hangout for us international students. Everyone there is very friendly, and I was inducted there with a Fanta my first day here when I met “Uncle Jerry.”

I am currently on a friend’s computer, as mine does not seem to be getting along with Ghana very well. It is either frozen (keyboard and mouse) when I turn it on, or freezes minutes after I turn it on. I think it may have been jolted on its trip around the world, but I hear there is an Apple store in the mall I can take it to. I hope to get it fixed soon! As soon as I do, I’ll upload pictures of where I live.

It is hot, it is humid, and it is wonderful. I still have a lot to learn, but I’m excited for the ride. Thank you for all of your prayers, and I’ll keep you updated as often as I can get to internet.

Wish me luck in registering for classes; the process starts tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Adjusting

  1. Oh Sissy…It’s so good to see you’re pushing forward! I can just see you weannie(ing) your way through the mob. Go get ’em girl! I’ll call tonight which will be during your waking hours to wish you good luck in registering for your classes. I love you Sara Mae! :o)

  2. Here is the LSF “Thought for the Week” for tonight: “I said to a man who stood at the gate of the year: Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown. And he replied: Go out into the darkness and put your hand in the hand of God. That shall be to you better than a light and safer than a known way.”
    ~ M. Louis Haskins Even though you’re half-way around the world, I wanted you to have this image, for it is precisely what you are doing! Thanks for your good descriptions. It’s fun to be almost-there with you! Hugs and prayers from me and the LSF crew…

  3. What a learning journey you are on! Life will never be the same for you or the people’s lives that you touch. I pray for you daily. Grandma and Grandpa are lucky to have a youngster like you in their home. I love you……..

  4. Hi Sweetie! It is Monday, January 18, 2010 10:00 pm here in Oklahoma America. We just read your long letter and cried with joy for you. It sounds like things are going pretty much okie dokie for you. YEAH!! Anyway, just wanted to keep up with you and let you know that we are always praying for you Sugar Plum. Take it easy and have fun, but please stay safe. Hugs & Kisses!!
    Love,
    Aunt Dana & Grandma

Leave a Reply

