Investing in the experience (aka seizing my adventures)

Ten weeks down, ten to go. The time is flying, and I’m realizing how strange it is that daily life in Ghana terrified me only 7 or 8 weeks ago, and now I feel fully adjusted and comfortable with everyday activities like transportation, purchasing food, and conversing with my host family. Life in Ghana is, well, normal.

The thought of this “normalcy” kind of got me down at first; it was discomforting to realize that there aren’t too many surprises on a daily basis any more; where are all my adventures? I realized after a while that I have to go out and seize my adventures if I’m going to have them, and so I’ve decided that instead of just coasting the rest of the way through my time here, that I’m going to try to break out of my box even more and dig deeply to invest in the experience.

So here’s to the adventure. We’ll see how feeding monkeys in the wild, bathing in Ghana’s largest waterfall, and climbing the country’s tallest peak all go this weekend. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

