Returning

Today – After ten months back in the States, I finally mustered up the courage to open my journal from my time abroad. It seems silly that it took me until now to do this, but I think there was a lot of processing to get through before I could take that closely of a look back. It’s heart-wrenching, in ways, reading back through my words penned in some very difficult and exciting times, but what struck me most is this – it’s a beautiful story.

I never got to finishing the written record of my adventures with Lauren in Burkina Faso after I returned home – I tried, but think that I was just so emotionally rocked that I couldn’t bring myself to complete the journey, or even to look back once I was home. In reality, the journey will never be complete – I relive it in ways every day, and add on to it every minute. The journey is my life itself. However, I think the time is finally ripe that I complete the record on my chapter in Ghana and Burkina Faso. In the next few weeks I aim to finish the story of our wild escapades in Burkina Faso, and the return home to Ghana and to the U.S. This isn’t for posterity’s sake, or for the sake of reminiscing. This is for me.

It’s time to return.

2 thoughts on “Returning

  1. Sara,

    I love it. I think one of the hardest things about going abroad is the coming back home. You are totally rocked/changed/never be the same. And then you realize life will always be a sojourn from here on out, and you will always have a different outlook on things. Welcome to the sojourn, my friend. I’m glad to see you have the courage to re-visit that time in your life and learn from it. 🙂 Love you. Desi

Leave a Reply

